Communication Students Receive Prestigious Telly Award

Communication Students Receive Prestigious Telly Award

A select group of Reinhardt communication students were recently awarded with a prestigious 2013 Bronze Award in the Non-Broadcast Productions – student category of the Telly Awards for the video, “Is This Real Life: Teen Violence in Georgia!” The 12-minute video was produced by the students in Associate Professor of Communication Dr. Pam Wilson’s COM 340 class in spring 2013.

“…illustrates their creativity, skill, and dedication to their craft.”

“The Telly Awards has a mission to honor the very best in film and video,” said Linda Day, executive director of the Telly Awards. “The Reinhardt University communication students’ accomplishment illustrates their creativity, skill, and dedication to their craft, and it serves as a testament to great film and video production.”

With nearly 11,000 entries from all 50 states and numerous countries, being selected for a Telly Award at any level is a grand accomplishment. A prestigious judging panel of over 500 accomplished industry professionals, each a past winner of a Silver Telly and a member of The Silver Telly Council, judged the competition, upholding the historical standard of excellence that Telly represents.

“I am so proud of my students,” said Dr. Pam Wilson, associate professor of communication. “This project was requested by Laurel Walker of Cartersville, serving as client liaison with Advocates for Children (Bartow County, headed by Rebecca Bentley) and the Cherokee Judicial Circuit to raise awareness on behalf of National Crime Victim’s Rights Week and National Child Abuse Prevention Month. It was truly an honor for the students to contribute on behalf of such an important cause to increase awareness of an ever-growing problem around the world.”

Student and Faculty Contributors

The video was directed by student Ryan Licht, a junior from Canton, Ga., with Paul Dudson, a 2013 alumnus from Worthing, West Sussex, as assistant director; and Kaylene Ghorley, a 2013 alumna from Ball Ground, Ga., as coordinating producer. Other creative forces were: Justin Lundstrom, a senior from Marietta, Ga., as a writer and researcher; Vanessa Irie, a senior from Waleska, Ga., as a narrator and writer; Alexa Griffin, a senior from Dalton, Ga., as a researcher, and DeRoss Polhill, a senior from Athens, Ga., as an assistant editor. LA Walker was the client liaison, along with the Bartow Advocates for Children and its director, Rebecca Bentley. Faculty members Larry Webb, assistant professor of communication; John Pettibone, web communication manager; and Peggy Collins-Feehery, director of Career Services; and students Elisabeth Shabi, a 2013 alumna from Canton, Ga.; Angela Harkins, a 2013 alumna from Blairsville, Ga.; and Hannah Buckner, a junior from Marietta, Ga., all served as consultants.

About the Telly Awards

The Telly Awards was founded in 1979 and is the premier award honoring outstanding local, regional, and cable TV commercials and programs, the finest video and film productions, and online commercials, video and films. Winners represent the best work of the most respected advertising agencies, production companies, television stations, cable operators, and corporate video departments in the world.