Faculty Members Honored for Dedication with Presentation of Annual Awards



thomas lee








Reinhardt University Honors Faculty Dedication with Presentation of Five Awards; Students Present Faculty Mentor Award

At the final Faculty Senate meeting of the academic year, University administrators underscored the crucial role that faculty play in making Reinhardt a true community of challenge and care. Among the outstanding faculty honored at the meeting were Dr. Matt Anderson, Dr. Paula-Thomas Lee, Jym Davis, Robin McNally, and Joe Mullins, and Dr. Catherine Emanuel was recognized during Honor’s Day.

Jane England Faculty Award for Excellence – Dr. Matt Anderson

Dr. Matt Anderson, instructor of music and a resident of Cumming, Ga., was honored with the Jane England Faculty Award for Excellence. The $500 award is named for a long-time Reinhardt faculty member who retired in May 2001 and passed away in January 2007. England was a professor of history and political science for 31 years at Reinhardt. She also served in numerous leadership roles, including advisor to the student newspaper and faculty chair. Upon her retirement, Reinhardt established this annual faculty award, along with a scholarship fund, in her honor. Anderson has been a faculty member at Reinhardt for almost three years.

Faculty Research and Scholarship Award – Dr. Paula Thomas-Lee

Dr. Paula Thomas-Lee, assistant professor of music, received a Faculty Research and Scholarship Award for her contributions to the artistic community. Thomas-Lee, a resident of Woodstock, Ga., has taught at Reinhardt for more than seven years.

“It was such a tremendous honor to receive this award for research,” said Thomas-Lee. “Conducting research is something that I find incredibly exciting! I think as educators we should always strive to look for ways to be more effective and applicable to our students. By researching on varying topics in the field of music education, I think I’ve become a stronger and more influential educator.”

Faculty Artistic Award – Jym Davis

Honored with the Faculty Artistic Award was Jym Davis, associate professor of art and a resident of Canton, Ga., who has taught at the University for more than eight years.

“Receiving the Faculty Art Award was a tremendous honor,” Davis said. “It was nice to have my art recognized and to hear so many encouraging words from my colleagues at Reinhardt University. There is a tremendous amount of creative energy at Reinhardt so it was nice to receive recognition from my peers.”

United Methodist Exemplary Teacher Award – Robin McNally

Robin McNally, assistant professor of mathematics, received the prestigious United Methodist Exemplary Teacher Award. McNally, a resident Acworth, Ga., has taught at Reinhardt for more than 21 years.

“I am very honored to have received this meaningful award,” said McNally. “I have been blessed for the last 20 years working with wonderful faculty members, amazing students and outstanding staff/administration at Reinhardt University.”

Funded by the Division of Higher Education of the General Board of Higher Education and Ministry of the United Methodist Church, the Exemplary Teacher Award is given annually to a Reinhardt faculty member to recognize excellence in teaching, commitment to value-centered education and service to students at the University.

Vulcan Materials Company Teaching Excellence Award – Joe Mullins

Honored with the Vulcan Materials Company Teaching Excellence Award was Joe Mullins, assistant professor of sport studies. Mullins, who is a resident of Jasper, Ga., has taught at the University for almost three years.

“I was excited to be nominated for the Vulcan award because the nominations come from students and faculty,” Mullins said. “I love to teach, and I am truly blessed to get to work with wonderful students and faculty every day. I was surprised to win the award and thankful to be recognized for something I love to do.”

Established in 1991, the Vulcan Teaching Excellence Awards annually honor an outstanding professor on selected member campuses of the Georgia Independent College Association. The award recognizes an outstanding faculty member who demonstrates strong academic skills in the classroom and provides leadership and support in the other areas of campus life. The recipients are faculty who assist the institutions in nurturing an academic climate which fosters teaching and who provide leadership to enhance the campus community.

Elizabeth Moss Bailey Faculty Mentor Award – Dr. Catherine Emanuel

The Elizabeth Moss Bailey Faculty Mentor Award was presented during Honors Day by Student Government Association President Alexander Bryant. Catherine Emanuel, director of the Center for Student Success, was selected by the students to receive this award.

“I certainly wasn’t expected this award, but it’s nice to have students acknowledge my efforts,” said Emanuel, a resident of Marietta, Ga. and faculty member for more than six years. “I feel very honored to have been recognized.”

The Elizabeth Moss Bailey Faculty Mentor Award was created in 2003 by the College’s Student Government Association (SGA) as an opportunity for recognizing a faculty member that renders outstanding mentorship to students. The SGA takes nominations for the honor from students, and then the members of the Student Senate vote on the faculty recipient. The award is named for Elizabeth Moss Bailey ’28, a distinguished alumna and former professor and dean of women who helped create the work-study program at the College.